October 31, 2006

  • Reunited with Allison

    I finally arrived in Ust-Komenogorsk at 9:00 am this morning.  I think I have been traveling for a day and a half and I am exhausted!  I had just enough time to check into the Irtysh Hotel and freshen up before leaving at 10 am to visit Allison at the Baby House.

     

    I’ve been concerned that she wouldn’t remember me, but when I walked into the room and called her name she grinned and seemed to recognize me.  I’m amazed by how much she has progressed in the last four weeks.  She can pull herself up to stand and cruise along a bench or a play pen.  She is also crawling and going just about anywhere she wants.  She crawled to a doorway and holding onto the wall pulled herself up to stand!  I can see I’m going to be very busy keeping up with her!  I was also pleasantly surprised at how much she smiled today.  She seems to be a very happy baby, which I give credit to  her permanent caregivers.  I think they gave her extra attention while I was gone.  I’m very grateful her caregivers are so caring and kind.

     

    Allison reached for me several times today wanting me to pick her up, which she never did before.  That simple gesture filled me with so much joy and pleasure!  She also cried when I left for the first time today.  When I put her in her crib for her nap after our morning visit, she cried and reached for me.  I felt very sad that I had to leave her and couldn’t take her with me and I’m glad I will be taking her home with me tomorrow.

     

    Our afternoon visit also went very well.  The baby room has a slide and Allison enjoyed sliding down with a little help from Mommy.  Towards the end she was scooting herself down the slide!  I will upload pictures tomorrow from Almaty where I should have a faster internet connection.  The connection in Ust is to slow to attempt uploading any pictures tonight.  Sorry!

     

    I will pick Allison up from the Baby House tomorrow morning at 7am to go to the airport.  Our flight to Almaty leaves at 9:30 am.  Once we arrive in Almaty, we will go to the SOS health clinic operated by the State Department where Allison will be examined and tested for HIV again.  My coordinator thinks the results of the HIV test may be available Friday, which means Allison and I could come home on either Saturday or Sunday.  While that would be very nice, I think it is more likely the results will not be available until Monday and we will leave on the 3:30 am flight on Tuesday, November 7th.

     

    The Baby House was crowed today because there are three families from the U.S. who arrived on Monday.  Each family is adopting a baby from Allison’s group.  I had spoken to one family while in the U.S. about the little girl they are adopting.  Bret and Kathryn Nelson are from Minnesota and are adopting a beautiful little girl.  There is another couple and their daughter who are adopting a little boy.  Jana, Mike and Bree are also from Minnesota.  The last family is from Texas and they are also adopting a little boy, but unfortunately he is sick right now and in the hospital.  Joanie and Nick are hopeful that he will be released from the hospital by the end of the week.  I wish them all the best and hope their adoptions go smoothly.

     

    That’s it for tonight.  I need to get some sleep so I can keep up with Allison tomorrow!

Comments (2)

  • I’ m so glad that Allison remember you and seems to be doing so good.  Glad that everything is progressing well.  We had to cancel Dad’s surgery tomorrow because he had some other problems , like a rash on his back and under his arms which is a yeast infection  and a torn muscle which they at first thought was a kidney problem. We will have to reschedule it later.  Hope to see you soon.

    Love Mom

  • Congratulations Veneicia!  We are so happy for you and Allison is adorable.  She is like a new born.  It will be great to watch her grow.  We can’t wait to see you December and to meet Allison.  Can you believe you are a MOM.   Welcome to the club!

    Mary, Terry and the kids

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *