September 29, 2006

  • Woman’s Summer Day

    In the U.S., we say we are having an Indian Summer day when the weather is very sunny and warm in late Fall.  In Kazakhstan, they call such a day a Woman’s Summer day.  According to Ahz, a nice sunny fall day is called a Woman’s Summer day because in the past women usually were not able to enjoy and relax on nice summer days because they were too busy gardening and preserving food, but when there was a really nice Fall day, they were able relax and enjoy the day because they had finished all their chores for ensuring there was food for the upcoming winter.   We had a Woman’s Summer Day in Ust today.  

     

    The weather was so nice that Allison I spent most of our morning visit outside.  We walked around the orphanage a couple of times and played in the little playground next to the orphanage.  There is a slide, swing and two benches under some trees where the children can play.  Allison and I slid down the slide a couple of times and then spent the rest of the morning swinging.  She was fascinated watching the wind ripple through the trees and the birds fly through the sky.   She also liked watching a group of older children (about 2 to 3 years old) who were on a walk with their caregiver.   The other family’s son Jackson entertained her as well.

     

    This afternoon, we went to Astana Air to buy tickets to Almaty.  There was only one seat left on the only flight that leaves Ust for Almaty on Tuesday, October 3rd.and I bought it!   Today was my lucky day!!   This means I will be able to catch the Lufthansa flight that leaves Almaty at 3:20 a.m. on Wednesday and I will arrive at Dulles at 1 p.m. EST.  While I am going to miss Allison very much and wish I could bring her home now, I am very happy to be coming home. 

     

    The internet has been down most of this evening and I haven’t been able to check emails or post anything.  I’m hoping it will be working again in the morning.  To keep busy, I’ve written my daily blog missive and the speech I will have to give before the judge during court on Monday.

     

    Wednesday, September 27, 2006

     

    Today was a fairly typical day in Ust.  I visited with Allison twice and during our afternoon visit she pulled herself up to stand while holding on to a bench!  She didn’t stop there because she then pulled/climbed on top of the bench!  She has amazing upper body strength for such a little girl.

     

    I was also very touched today when one of the caregivers gave me a hand crocheted doily for Allison.  It is beautiful and I’m sure Allison will treasure this gift when she is older.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *