September 8, 2006

  • Travel Day

    Hi Everyone!  This is my Kazakhstan Adoption blog where I plan to document my adoption journey.  After almost two years, I am finally leaving tonight to go to Kazakhstan and meet my baby.  I finished packing at 2:30 this morning and I think I packed everything I will need plus some.  I was hoping I could get by with only one suitcase, but I just couldn’t fit everything into just one suitcase.  The larger suitcase has the various stuff I’m taking for the baby.  I’ve packed the Baby Einstein blocks I received from Shirley & Johnny, the rattles I received from Tara, the quilt I received from Canessa & Ken, the books I received from Terry & Gene, the baby doll and blanket I received from Mom and Dad, and the Baby Einstein play gym I received from Grannie Matherly.  I’m also taking  the very pretty Vera Bradley diaper bag Mimi and Tim gave me as one of my carry on bags. 

    My flight leaves Dulles at 10 p.m. tonight.  I will have a short layover in Frankfurt, Germany before proceeding to Altmaty, Kazakhstan.  I will arrive in Altmaty about 1am local time on Sunday and will be met at the airport by Sonja, one of the interpreters.  I will spend what is left of Saturday night in a hotel close to the airport and fly to Ust - Komengorsk on Sunday afternoon. 

    On Monday, I will go to the orphanage to meet Alma Askarova, the 8 month old baby girl I have been referred.

    I’ve loaded some pictures from the baby shower Mom, Canessa and Mimi held for me over Labor Day weekend.  I really appreciate them doing this for me and I had a wonderful time.

    I also want to thank my niece Amber for setting up this website.

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *